Writer

Hello Friends,

So the word this week over at Lisa Jo Baker is WRITER. So here goes.

I think it is funny how much power the word writer had for me just a few short months ago. For years I have wanted to be a writer. I have stories floating around in my head that I need to write or they need to be written. I feel like a vehicle or a surrogate mother for these stories. But I struggle with labeling myself a writer. I fought these stories for years. Put them out of my head. Set them aside. Downplayed and dismissed them. For over thirty ears I have wanted to write and I have done everything I can to avoid it thinking that I am not a writer. How could I possibly write when I am not a writer.

Then a few months ago I came across a book I must have bought over two decades ago back when I was earning my bachelor’s degree. It was a book about being a writer. In this book the author explains the difference between a writer and an author. That was my aha! moment. I may not be an author yet, but I can certainly call myself a writer.

So, now I call myself a writer and in just the naming of the thing. Guess what? I write now. I write and write and write and I have never been so clear. The stories are there somehow and they are starting to take shape and form  paragraphs and moments and places and people and dialogue and action.

I am a writer.

Love,

S

Lisa Jo Baker has an interesting task every Friday. She calls it Five Minute Friday and it is a writing exercise posited around a particular prompt. You write to the prompt for a total of five minutes, uninterrupted, unedited, and then you link your writing to her site. As well, you go back and read two entries and comment on them.
She has, in effect, created a writer’s workshop. I love this and find it fun to participate in whether or not I had a blog. It is about the writing after all.

10 thoughts on “Writer

  1. debbieputman says:

    It took a long time for me to call myself a writer, too. But here we are, both contributing to Five Minute Friday–an encouragement to all who need just a little nudge!

    Like

  2. You have me intrigued about the difference between writer and author. I’m not sure what it is, but I know I don’t aspire to be an author but the title writer is finally starting to feel okay. Nice to meet you S. Seems we have some common ground.

    Like

    • Debby,
      Thanks for stopping by. I am eager to get more comfortable with the label, writer and at the same time, I so want to get published. Though everything I read tells me that the publishing part is rather anti-climactic. That the real joy comes in the hard work rather than the “payoff.” It is nice to meet you too!

      Like

      • Have you heard of or read Margaret Feinberg? I’m not a regular reader of hers but I saw last week where she had a series for people who want to be authors. It was interesting. A lot was about writing in general but some specific. Look her up (hope I spelled her name right) and search for Writer’s Bootcamp on her page.

        Like

Leave a Reply

