Insecure Writers’ Support Group

Hello Friends,

I am participating in the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Okay, the name is a little misleading.  It is a support group in that it is a group of writers who post on the same day about their struggles with writing and how they handle said struggles. As a writer who has never really openly admitted that I want to write or be a writer, this felt like a good place to start accepting this about myself.

I am a writer.

I love to write.

I am my own worst critic.

I decided a few months ago to start writing again. I have a novel in the works and a screenplay. Gosh that sounds so weird to write (out loud) down, publicly. The novel is what I need to focus on, as in it eats at me every day. So my focus is on completing my collection of stories that make up the novel. This is harder work than I thought it would be.

I started my blog to help me become acquainted with the discipline of writing and to get used to having my writing available in a more public fashion. It has been so fun. I have tons of ideas about posts. I am always thinking about different ideas to explore. But, the writing is very different from the writing one does for a novel . Blog writing feels less, serious. The English major in me thinks I should focus on finishing my novel and the insecure side of me says, “Wait, you aren’t ready yet. Work on your blog some more…”

So, I admit I am a writer. I admit I am pulled in different directions writing-wise. I will also admit that I have never been happier than now, in this new writing world.

If you are an insecure writer, please consider joining the rest of us. You never know who you will meet or what you will discover along the way.

Love,

S

Insecure Writers Support Group

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

13 thoughts on “Insecure Writers’ Support Group

  1. terrirochenski says:

    I think we are all our own worst critics! At least we try, though, right? I, too, am pulled in many directions. I’ve found it’s easier to go with whatever happens to be flowing on any particular day. Blog post screaming for release? Get it done. New scene not letting you sleep? Roll out of bed and grab a pen.

    Thanks for the encouragement today!

    Like

  2. Oh, you’re out NOW, sister! Welcome to the world of writing and the Insecure Writer Support Group! Once it takes hold it won’t let go. Seriously. You might as well just give into it. You might be amazed what you learn about yourself and this is an amazing community.

    Like

    • I know! I’ve gone and done it now! Thanks. I am giving in to it and having some of the best days. There are those days when the writing just sucks, but then there are these lovely moments where it all comes together beautifully.

      Like

  3. chemistken says:

    Yep, blogging is less serious than writing a novel or screenplay, but it’s a necessary diversion for some of us. We don’t have to stress over story structure or proper grammar. We can let our creative side do what it wants. Glad you’re part of the IWSG.

    Like

  4. I loved this post and you had me nodding and agreeing to almost every point. I am with you and I admit I am a writer.. I am just not a published author… Yet! i agree with you that blog writing feels a bit less serious but it is true what you say, writing is writing! Keep up the great work and all the best with your novel!

    Chanzie @ Mean Who You Are.

    Like

  5. Hi,
    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I think I need to be a part of the support group as well!!
    Something you said really had me thinking
    “……focus is on completing my collection of stories that make up the novel…”
    I don’t think I ever heard it put quite like that before. To someone who always had thoughts of writing a novel firmly tucked under “no way”, and ” I wonder if I could do that” this sounds to me like a great way to start. And then would come the weaving of it all together. Wow!! Thanks.

    Like

    • Thanks for your nice thoughts about writing. I struggle with the “big write” so parsing it out into stories feels like an easier approach to the whole thing. Writing is just, a sum of its parts, in some ways. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

