Quote

“Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.”

Hello Friends,
Yes, I am writing about another writing book. So sue me. But let me first tell you that I first read this book over ten years ago and I still love it. I am rereading it now because it is soulful and beautiful. If you don’t know about Anne Lamott, you need to know about her. She is gracious and full of grace. She is also full of spit and vinegar, but that is another story. Anne has a lovely way of inviting you into her head without you even realizing there was a door through which you needed to enter. I mean, she just gets it. She is spiritual. She is soulful. She is completely open. She shares the downfalls and the mistakes. She shares the heartbreak and the shame. But all along the telling of her story (meaning, any story she deigns to tell) you are there too, almost arm in arm.

No, I am not stalking her, I just want to grow up to be like her. She is a wonderful role model and a delightful writer.
Author Pic

I have read many of her books, but my all time favorite is her book about her life and the art of writing. She is so helpful, alive, real, insightful, and instructive in this book.

bird by bird:Some Instructions on Writing and Life

Book Cover

via

“For some of us, books are as important as almost anything else on earth.  What a miracle it is that out of these small, flat, rigid squares of paper unfolds world after world after world, worlds that sing to you, comfort and quiet or excite you.  Books help us understand who we are and how we are to behave.  They show us what community and friendship mean; they show us how to live and die.”
―     Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life    

I encourage you to read this book of hers if you only have a little time. Once you read this one, you will want to read her others.

Love,

S

3 thoughts on ““Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.”

    • Honestly, I haven’t written an entire book yet. So, I really have no idea how long it takes. Writers in my workshop group have taken between 8 weeks and 20 years to complete their novels.

      Like

      • Wow! I have a title for a book that I would like to write and the description is on my blog under A Life Filled with Hope. I am currently working on it however, it will probably take me a while to write it with everything else that is going on in my life. Homeschooling children, work, and the normal things that everyone faces. I appreciate your response. Thanks for following me as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

